A one-act chamber opera

Composer: Edgars Mākens
Libretto: Sergejs Timofejevs
Director: Ināra Slucka
Soloists: Kalvis Kalniņš, Kitija Mināte
Performers: string quartet JUNO (first violin – Otto Trapāns, second violin – Undīne Cercina, viola – Paula Kronentāle, cello – Undine Balode)
Scenography, video: Krišs Salmanis
Electronic solutions for the music: Alise Rancāne
Libretto translation: Arvis Viguls
Sound engineer: Oliver Tarvids
Light board operator: Dina Beināre
Video board operator: Normunds Balodis
Producer: Theatre Ģertrūdes ielas teātris
Duration: 1:00 
Premiere: 16/11/2021

Warning: Flashing lights!

The performance was made with the financial support of the State Culture Capital Foundation's program "Support for the Development of the Musical Theatre Genre"

Venue details

Nearest performance


Hide description

The story takes place ten years in the future. The main character lives together with a bodiless artificial intelligence – a Digital Assistant named DIA. This is an era when physical distancing – the legacy of the epidemic and of general digitization – has become the dominant lifestyle, while the currency 'contact', equivalent to one view of a piece of virtual content, has been recognized as a global currency. Everyone participates in the struggle for "contacts", meanwhile DIA, who speaks in a woman's voice, dreams of having a body to build a full-fledged relationship with her master. But what does he have to say about this idea?

Latvian Ministry of Welfare supports the European Social Fund project “Support for Social Entrepreneurship” No.