Man on Stairs

Man on Stairs

Director: Andrejs Jarovojs
Music: Dāvis Burmeisters
Scenography: Ieva Kauliņa
Performed by: Aleksejs Bahirs (violin), Dāvis Burmeisters (guitar), Madara Fogelmane (chello), Inga Burmeistere (piano)
Video artist: Gita Straustiņa
Sound engineer: Olivers Tarvids
Producer: Theatre Ģertrūdes ielas teātris
Duration: 1:15
Premiere: 07/05/2011

Venue details

Nearest performance


Hide description

“Man on Stairs” addresses the moments in our lives that contrast the unstoppable 24-hour race. It’s a performance about meeting yourself, about the times when we can relax, give in to observation, longing, memories and dreams when we can search for the spell of presence and get our relationships to ourselves and the world in order.

The interaction of sound and image in the performance highlights the difference between the objective and the subjective, between the externally determined and our personal — emotional — perception of time. By blurring the lines between memories, observation and waiting, the creative team brings the spectator on an internal journey through the past, present, and future.

The performance quotes: “String Quartet No. 4” by Béla Bartók, ”Quartet for the End of Time” by Olivier Messiaen, “Lecture on Nothing” by John Cage, “The Making of Americans” by Gertrude Stein, “The Waves” by Virginia Woolf, documentary film “Bergensbanen” by the channel NRK2 of the Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation, “Écoute” by Miroslav Sebestik.

Latvian Ministry of Welfare supports the European Social Fund project “Support for Social Entrepreneurship” No.